Phone: 800-489-0649 - Email:
Hammond High School

Spring wrapping up at Hammond


By David Shelton

Senior Writer

Columbia – The spring sports season for 2017 is drawing to a close and Hammond School’s athletes are competing well in the SCISA state playoff arena.

Already in this playoff season, Hammond has won a pair of state AAA championships, winning titles in boys’ lacrosse and boys’ golf. The boys’ track team had a solid third-place finish in the state meet and the boys’ tennis team advanced to the AAA semi-finals.

The golf team won the AAA team title in a one-day event at the Hackler Course in Conway in late April. The state tournament was originally scheduled for two days and 36 holes but was trimmed to 18 holes after weather forced cancellation of the first day.

Hammond posted a winning team score of 297 to beat runner-up Porter-Gaud by 10 strokes. Three Skyhawks earned all-state honors for their play, led by Henry Augenstein, who shot 72 on the day. Bronson Myers (73) and Chalmers Allen (75) also earned all-state recognition.

Blake Weinbach shot 77 and Harry Mashburn posted a score of 82 to round out the Hammond scoring.

The lacrosse team beat Porter-Gaud, 10-6, to claim their second straight SCISA state title and their fifth overall. The Skyhawks jumped out to a big early lead and made it stand defensively for the win. Hammond (8-5) got three goals from Michael Borden, all in the first half. Navaar Naimie, Cle Pennington and Alex Huntley each scored two goals and Corbitt Glick added a goal.

“It’s all about how you finish and that’s how we approach every season,” coach Jonathan Patterson said. “We lose some games during the regular season but we always talk about being at our best when it counts the most. This team did that.”

The tennis team lost to eventual state champion Porter-Gaud in the semi-finals of the AAA state tournament. Will Lynch played number one singles this spring, followed by Julian Owens at number two and Devohn Goodwin at number three. Ben Gardner played four singles and David Estefana played five. Ryan Asbill rounded out the ladder at number six.

Hammond’s baseball team finished strong and qualified for the AAA state tournament. The Skyhawks opened with a best-of-three series against Wilson Hall. After winning the first game, Hammond dropped two close games to the Barons to end their season.

 Michael Ogburu won a pair of gold medals at the state track meet. Ogburu was state champion in the 100 and 200-meter dashes. He also finished fourth in the 400.

Cleo Ogburu was state champion in the girls’ AAA discus finals and finished third in the shot put. Cleo Canty was another top performer for the boys’ team, finished second in the 400 hurdles and second in the high jump.

Both soccer teams began the state playoffs on May 8-9. The boys’ team finished as the region 1-AAA runner-up and opened the playoffs on May 8th against First Baptist. The girls’ team was third in region 1-AAA and played Pinewood Prep in round one on May 9th.



© 2017 High School Sports Report

Scroll To Top