Phone: 800-489-0649 - Email:
Colleton County High School

Colleton County spring athletes honored at year-end banquet


By David Shelton

Senior Writer

WalterboroColleton County’s top spring performers were recently honored at the school’s annual year-end spring sports athletic banquet.

Athletes in varsity and junior varsity play were recognized for their achievements before their peers and members of the athletic department and coaching staff.

Named the most outstanding players on the boys varsity soccer team were Corey Bowman and Preston McCloud, while Montavious Pinckney received the most improved player award.

Lance Calcutt received the Cougar Leadership award and also the team’s academic excellence award.

Brett Beach was the offensive mvp in junior varsity boys soccer while Drew Frank received the defensive award. Darius Johnson was named most outstanding player and Rett Collins received the academic award.

In varsity girls soccer, Daryn Hooker was named top defensive player while Faith Allen was top offensive player. Rachel Dandridge received the Cougar Leadership award and Anne Mathis Thomas was the rookie of the year.

Amiyah Robinson received the hustle award and Stephanie Hooker earned the team academic award. Senior awards were presented to Allen, Dandridge, Daryn Hooker, Ashlyn Harley, Karis Thomas and Macie Stone.

Allen, Daryn Hooker and Robinson were also recognized as all-region selections in region 8-AAAA.

Leiara Rivera received the 110% award and the academic award for the junior varsity team. Faith Bishop was the rookie of the year and Zy’Aire Johnson received the Cougar Leadership award.

In varsity baseball, Wesley Bryan received the team’s Heart award and Lucas Bell earned the Cougar Leadership award. Jackson Bell was tabbed as most improved player and Keeley Murdaugh received the Academic award.

Bell also received the JV Heart and Cougar Leadership award in junior varsity baseball. Eddie Bennette was named most improved and Matthew Hooker received the academic award.

Dalton Moore was most outstanding player in golf, with Ben Crosby taking most improved. Jim Bailey received the team’s academic award.

Junior varsity softball awards included Shamorie Overton as the most outstanding player; Dominique Moore with the Cougar Leadership award; Dezyrea Woodbury with the sportsmanship award; and Adriene Jenkins with the academic award.

In girls track, Shaniya Fields-Manigo was best jumper and Ashly Williams was best sprinter. Victoria Myers was best thrower and Grayson Altman received the academic award.

Jaden Koger was tabbed as most outstanding performer on the boys track team. Jeremiah Monroe received the most improved award and Jermari Stephens received the Cougar Leadership award. Jalen Levine earned the team’s academic award.

Adam Buckner was the player of the year in boys tennis while Nick Fanchette took the Coach’s award. Makel Bowman earned the Heart of a Cougar award and Thomas Warren received the team’s academic award.

In varsity cheer, Kayla Mincey received the Coach’s award and Mahogany Richards was named most dependable. Most spirited went to Kash David and Sarah Ward received the academic excellence award.



© 2017 High School Sports Report

Scroll To Top