Phone: 800-489-0649 - Email:
Thomas Heyward High School

Thomas Heyward baseball and softball seasons underway


By David Shelton

Senior Writer

Ridgeland – The basketballs have been put away and the start of the 2020 spring sports season has arrived at Thomas Heyward Academy.

The basketball season produced very little in the way of success as the boys team won five games and the girls team won twice.

That is sure to change this spring as the baseball and softball teams have a solid history of being competitive playoff teams.

The baseball team split their first two games of the 2020 season. This year’s roster is fairly young but does have good experience returning.

One of the leaders offensively wil be senior Louie Smith, who batted ,342 a year ago. The team’s only other senior is Josh Gobel. Both Smith and Gobel will be two of the primary pitchers.

Junior John Hewlett returns as a key offensive player, hitting .300 last season. Fulton Wade, Jeremy Clemmer, Preston Humbert and Peyton Bennett also return as juniors.

Nick Wise, Wyatt Pope and Dylan Boyles are sophomores, while Anthony Fripp, Ayden Lassiter and Carter Zareva are freshmen.

The Rebels were 7-8 during the regular season a year ago. Their first win of this season came against Battery Creek.

The softball program is off to a 1-3 start against a tough early schedule. The early losses came to Laurence Manning, Summerville and James Island. The first win of the season was a 10-3 win over Beaufort.

The program is looking to replace several key performers from last year’s team and pitching will be young.

Sophomore Isabel Cannon will handle the bulk of the work inside the circle. Cannon is off to a great start at the plate with seven RBI in the first four games.

 The team leaders will be seniors Olivia Pace and Bayli Belger, both good hitters in the lineup. Outfielder Karleigh Edmondson is the only other senior.

Junior Amelia Bonds picked up five hits in her first nine at bats this season. The team’s other junior is Abby Bennett.

Sophomores Gracie Wade, Keleigh Bowers and Abigail Hayes will be key contributors this season. Freshman Skylar Kesselring, and eighth-graders Lucy Dantzler and Kaylee Standard round out the varsity roster this season.


© 2019-2020 High School Sports Report

Scroll To Top