Phone: 800-489-0649 - Email:
St. John's Christian High School
Moncks Corner

Cavs finish season in state tourney


By Rob Gantt

Special to the HSSR


MONCKS CORNER – The St. John’s Christian boys basketball team finished 14-11 on the hardwood this winter for Coach Drew Crowell.

The Cavaliers, who also posted a 7-5 mark against region foes, earned a spot in the SCISA Class A state tournament before falling to Conway Christian in the opening round.

Their mark could have been better with a few plays or breaks here or there. The Cavs lost four games by single digits and a few others by 12 or so.

The 2019-20 campaign was the last for three seniors: guard Fletcher Law and forwards Evan Mizzell and Rochard Tingue.

Mizzell averaged 9.9 points and Law 5.6 points for the Cavaliers, who scored 61.7 points per contest.

Reasons for optimism moving forward will be the return of junior guard Nai’Ryan Bookert and junior guard Corey Moraux. Bookert, one of the best scorers in the Lowcountry, poured in a team-high 22 points per game.

Crowell said no team had any success consistently stopping Bookert.

Moraux also reached double figures at 11.6 points per game.

Junior Josh Legnard will be another player with scoring punch returning. Legnard contributed 6.7 points a night. Sophomore Bryce Taylor averaged 4.8 points.

Six other lettermen can return next winter.



The SJCA baseball team picked up victories over First Baptist (5-4) and Lowcountry Leadership (7-2) on Feb. 27 and March 2.

In the win over First Baptist, the Cavaliers scored a pair of runs in the sixth inning and Connor Lockliear earned the save in the seventh for Legnard, who threw four innings of relief and struck out 10 batters.

Against Lowcountry Leadership, Matt Glover drove in two runs and Bubba Wells fanned 10 over four innings to earn the pitching win.



The SJCA softball team dropped a 6-3 decision to Williamsburg Academy on March 3.

Mary Davis drove in all three runs for the Lady Cavaliers.


© 2019-2020 High School Sports Report

Scroll To Top