Phone: 800-489-0649 - Email:
Hartsville High School

Hartsville winter sports gear up for final push


By David Shelton

Senior Writer

Hartsville – With three weeks remaining in the regular season of the winter sports campaign, basketball and wrestling teams at Hartsville High are gearing up for the final push towards earning a spot in AAAA playoff competition.

The wrestling program has been building for several years and has made itself a constant in the Class AAAA duals playoff setting in recent years. The Red Foxes look to again contend for the region 6-AAAA title and has several individuals who could make a strong run at gold in February.

As a team, Hartsville is currently ranked ninth in Class AAAA. The Red Foxes advanced to the second-round of the duals playoffs last season and finished as the region 6-AAAA runner-up.

Two of the top performers on this year’s team include Jordan Lynch at 120 pounds and Logan Berger at 132 pounds. Both were qualifiers for the AAAA individual state tournament a year ago. Lynch was the state runner-up at 120 while Berger was state runner-up at 113 pounds.

Two other returning state qualifiers include Wyatt Wilson and Gabe Moore. Wilson qualified at 145 last year but is wrestling at 152 this winter. Moore qualified at 132 and has moved up to 145 pounds this season.

Others who are filling in spots this season include Josh Atkins (106), Kimball Moore (113), Josh Mullins (182), Richard Williamson (195), Colby Catoe (220) and Byron Coe (285).

The girls basketball team at Hartsville opened region play with a 1-2 record, posting a win over Darlington but losing to Marlboro County and North Myrtle Beach. The Lady Red Foxes were 10-9 overall as of January 20.

Senior Jazolyn Pendergrass continues to lead the team in scoring, averaging 16.6 points per game. Senior post Lauren Thomas is averaging a double-double, scoring 10 points per game while hauling in 15.3 rebounds an outing.

Junior Ameonta Sutton adds 9.3 points per game while sophomore Aletrice Benjamin is scoring 7.3 points per game. Freshman Alzaria Knox contributes 6.2 points and sophomore Bry Hudson adds 5.6 points and 5.7 rebounds per game.

The boys team has suffered some hard luck in region play. The Red Foxes lost their first three games in region six by a total of seven points. Hartsville lost by one to North Myrtle Beach, by two to Darlington, and by four points to Marlboro County. The Red Foxes are 5-11 overall as of January 20.

Junior Cesare Edwards continues to put up big numbers, averaging 13.8 points and 13.1 rebounds per game this season. Junior Jordan Blue adds 7.2 points per game while freshman DeAndre Huggins is adding 6.9 points and 6.5 rebounds per contest.

 Senior Elijah Thaggard averages 5.8 points and freshman Jamari Briggs has scored just under five points per game on the season.


© 2019-2020 High School Sports Report

Scroll To Top