Phone: 800-489-0649 - Email:
Colleton Prep High School

Colleton Prep fall sports competing for playoff opportunities


By David Shelton

Senior Writer

Walterboro – With state playoff competition just around the corner, the fall sports teams at Colleton Prep are looking to finish off the regular season in strong fashion and secure a spot in the postseason.

SCISA state playoffs begin in two weeks and state champions will be decided over the next four weeks. The girls’ tennis and volleyball programs at Colleton Prep are annual participants in the state tournaments and 2017 should be no different. Both teams are competing well in their respective regions.

The volleyball team, coached by Ashley Finney, sits at 11-4 overall and 4-3 in region play. Hilton Head Christian is the region leader at 7-0. The Warhawks have matches remaining with Hilton Head Christian, Hilton Head Prep, Thomas Heyward, John Paul II and Beaufort Academy to close out the regular season.

This year’s team is one of the youngest in SCISA with a roster that looks more like a junior varsity team. Yet, most of the key performers are the youngest players, which makes for a good future.

Sophomore Langley Harter is the team leader and has a team-high 170 kills to go with 43 service aces. Freshman middle Ella Nolte has 118 kills and 10 blocks at the net while contributing 40 aces.

Eighth-grader Emily Wilson is the setter and has 346 assists and 57 aces while freshman Weslin Jones has 69 kills, 112 digs and 69 service aces. Eighth-grader Jessica Hughes may be the most effective server, recording 87 aces this season.

Rounding out the roster this fall are juniors Hannah Drawdy and Katelyn Sightler, and freshmen Kenleigh Crosby and Ally Crook.

The girls’ tennis team also looks to finish strong and earn a spot in the playoffs. The team this fall is led at the top by veteran Meredith Ware, who plays number one singles and has been a part of the program for several years. Ware also is a starter on the basketball team.

Rianna Bailey is playing number two singles and also returns from last year’s team. Becca Martin occupies the number three singles position and Emma Kate Bell is playing in the number four slot.

Rounding out the top six in singles are Sidney Bailey and Kaylee Spears.

Ware and Bailey work at number doubles when needed while Martin and Bell play number two doubles.

 Colleton Prep’s football team has limped to a 1-4 start but can still earn a playoff spot with a strong finish. The Warhawks struggled offensively without injured starting quarterback Fisher Jackson but the leader has returned to action for the stretch drive.

Heading into a showdown on October 5th against rival Dorchester Academy, Colleton Prep still held hopes of winning the region title. The remaining schedule includes Hilton Head Prep, John Paul II and Thomas Heyward. A sweep of the final four games would mean a region title.

Colleton Prep opened the season with a loss to Charlotte Latin and a win over Williamsburg Academy. That win was followed up by three consecutive losses to Hilton Head Christian, The King’s Academy and St. Andrews.



© 2017 High School Sports Report

Scroll To Top