Phone: 800-489-0649 - Email:
Porter Gaud High School

Porter-Gaud wins 12 state titles in 2017-18


By David Shelton

Senior Writer

Charleston – Once again, Porter-Gaud proved to be the top athletic program in SCISA during the 2017-18 school year.

The Cyclones set a school record by winning 12 SCISA state championships during the most recent school year, which may also be a record for SCISA athletic programs as well.

Athletic director Larry Salley says no school is more supported in the arena of athletics than Porter-Gaud. However, Salley feels the most integral part of the school’s athletic success is the ability to maintain and improve its coaching staff. It is rare for the athletic department to have coaching openings, and when an opening does present itself, there is more often than not a quality replacement available.

Porter-Gaud will have a few new head coaches for the 2018-19 school year. One position was created when Hutson Dodds, the school’s director of golf, took a position as Director of Alumni Relations at the school.

Salley has placed Hope Walters in charge of the girls golf program this fall while Roscoe Bolton will move from junior varsity boys coach to varsity boys coach.

Walters also will return as the varsity girls soccer coach in the spring. Walters led Porter-Gaud to the SCISA AAA state title in 2018.

Boys lacrosse coach David Scully, who guided the program to a pair of SCISA state championships, has stepped down to focus on family. Assistant Robbie Robinson, a former head jayvee coach at Wando, will take over as the head coach next spring.

Girls lacrosse coach Becky Williams also is leaving the school, moving to Europe. A replacement has yet to be named. Porter-Gaud has won back-to-back state titles.

In the football program, Al Wilson has been named the head junior varsity coach. He has shared the head coaching duties with Chris Tate for the last several years.

Staying with football, head varsity coach Rick Reetz is set to return for his 10th season at Porter-Gaud. Reetz is 62-44 over the last nine seasons and has taken the program to the SCISA AAA state finals twice (2010, 2016). Reetz enters this season with 131 career wins as a head coach. The Cyclones open the 2018 season on August 17th against Charleston Math and Science.

Also in the fall, Megan Crouch returns for her sixth season as the head volleyball coach. Crouch has guided the program to five consecutive state AAA titles. The program has won eight straight championships overall.

Hugh Knight will return to direct the very successful cross country and track and field programs. The boys cross country team has won or tied for eight consecutive state championships.

Porter-Gaud is the defending state champion in boys and girls swimming and coach Michael Walsh returns as coach. Charlotte Hartsock will return as the girls tennis coach this fall with Kael Martin returning as the Sailing coach. Christy Christmas will again direct the cheerleaders.

John Pearson returns as the boys varsity head basketball coach, seeking a fourth consecutive state championship. Kevin Ziman returns as the girls varsity basketball coach while Al Wilson will coach the bowling team in the winter.

 Dan Hydrick will coach the Sporting Clays team while Colleen Jones is the equestrian coach. Juan Roncancio directs the boys soccer program and Ricky Tillman returns as the head baseball coach. Jonathan Barth will again head up the highly successful boys tennis program.


© 2017 High School Sports Report

Scroll To Top