Phone: 800-489-0649 - Email:
Clarendon Hall High School


By: Gerald Doolittle

Special Writer

Summerton, S.C. – Even though it has been a disappointing season for the Clarendon Hall Academy Lady Saints, Coach Jeffery Bays thinks the softball future at the school looks brighter as his Junior Varsity program won the 2017 region title with a 16-3-1 record.

“It has been a very disappointing season for the Lady Saints,” said Coach Bays. “We lost three four year starters and two three year starters off the roster this year which made 2017 a rebuilding year for us. Early this season we lost our starting pitcher, Madison Kidd. Glenda Kay Broadway stepped up and handled the duties for us in the circle. I have really been proud of Broadway because she was hit in the eye last year off a line drive and was not even going to play this year. She had a lot of courage to get back in the circle and put the team on her shoulders. Madison was able to return after spring break which gave us two pitchers to work with. We were also able to use Madison on first base which is her best position.”

“We will lose three senior starters this year,”continued Bays. “We will have six starters returning next year of which four will be seniors.”

Devyn Royce led this year’s team with a .469 batting average followed by Hannah Corbett with a .426 batting average. Keri Shaffer, Ava English and Summer Barnes followed with .364, .319 and .317 averages. Sydney Wells, Lauren Pifer and Broadway followed with .258, .256 and .214 averages and Kidd followed with a .182 average.

The varsity with one game remaining in regular season stood 2-9 in region play and 6-13 overall.

The Junior Varsity was led by Amberly Way (6th) winning 16 games and striking out 140 batters. On top of that she pitched 6 no hitters of which 1 was a perfect game. She also led the team with a .685 batting average and 25 RBIs.

Bailey Corbett (8th) ended the season batting .667 with 21 RBIs and Hadleigh McIntosh finished with a .582 average with 23 RBIs.


© 2017 High School Sports Report

Scroll To Top